IS IT A DUPE? URBAN DECAY NAKED SKIN CONCEALER vs. MAYBELLINE FIT ME CONCEALER

  While this blog is about affordable, budget friendly beauty products, we all love to venture into the high end side of the pool from time to time. Which is what I did recently. I received an Ulta gift card for my birthday, and after mulling it over for quite some time, decided to try a product that has seemingly changed the game in the beauty industry from a brand that is one of the most highly regarded around – Urban Decay. More specifically, the Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer.

Often when I’m in Ulta, I like to browse and swatch the high end side of the  store. After seeing all the buzz on YouTube about this product, I knew I had to make it mine. But with a price point of about $28, I was reluctant to jump right in. I mean, do you KNOW how much stuff you can buy with $28?!

So I swatched it, and found my closest shade match (Light Neutral if you’re interested), and put it back and walked away. Queue the gift card.

I finally bought it. When I got it home I was so excited to try it – ever so carefully I opened up the box, gently removed the small glass tube, and opened it. Long story short, while it was a great color match and it truly looked like my skin, there was two things that were SUPER heartbreaking for me –

  • it was NOT complete coverage at ALL
  • within 10 minutes, I had bright orange spots ALL OVER MY FACE – damn you oxidization!

But I did notice that it was eerily similar to something I already owned and have loved for quite some time – my Maybelline Fit Me concealer!

The formula is very very similar, they’re both lightweight, almost a tinted gel consistency, easily blendable, totally breathable, and they look like your own skin, minus imperfections! But here’s whats BETTER about the Maybelline –

  • it didn’t oxidize on my at all
  • it doesn’t crease, even on days I’m in a rush and forget to set it with some sort of powder
  • the doe foot applicator is smaller, so not as much product is dispensed and therefore wasted
  • the container is made of plastic, so I’m not worried about it breaking in my bag

So, at least for me, the verdict is – IT’S A DUPE!!!

Have any of you guys tried either product? Tell me what you think in the comments below! And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram – @dlynnesposito

Lots of Love!

XOXO – Donna

7 thoughts on “IS IT A DUPE? URBAN DECAY NAKED SKIN CONCEALER vs. MAYBELLINE FIT ME CONCEALER

  1. Pingback: MY FAVORITE DUPES! | AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS

  2. Fit Me has WAY less coverage than UD concealer. I’ve also never had my UD oxidize but I am fair for under eyes and light neutral for spot concealing so maybe that’s why. I find UD to be superior enough to justify the price difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • UD is a great concealer. One I reach for on a daily basis. I had a tough time finding a shade initially, as I’m someone who would prefer to apply concealer versus foundation on a daily basis. I was matched to fair neutral, which was stark white. Light neutral works for me in the summer but once it oxidized, left orange splotches. Finally I tried light warm and it worked. Maybelline is similar in its consistency, and the fact that it is buildable without caking. At least that’s been my experience, of course products react differently in different skin, and it depends on what you’re trying to cover. Thank you for reading!! ❤️

      Like

Leave a comment