IS IT A DUPE? GERARD COSMETICS LIP GLOSS IN ROSE HILL vs. ULTA MINERAL LIP GLOSS IN ROSE GARNET

Ready for another lippie dupe? I know I am! Today I bring you the battle of the lip glosses!

I love watching Jaclyn Hill videos on YouTube. She’s funny, real, quirky, informative, and super talented. She’s truly an inspiration.

One half of this ‘is it a dupe?’ features her very first creation with Gerard Cosmetics, a highly pigmented gloss in the shade ‘Rose Hill’. I don’t want to spoil the rest of the post, so we’ll just jump right in and see if I’ve been able to dupe it or not!

Let’s get started!


GERARD COSMETICS COLOR YOUR SMILE LIGHTED LIP GLOSS in ROSE HILL ($24)

IMG_8515As I said above, this was the first creation of MUA and YouTuber Jaclyn Hill, and I must say she did an amazing job!

Gerard Cosmetics says:

Take time and smell the Rose Hill. Vibrant, sophisticated and endlessly feminine..this is an essential for any lip gloss addict.

This is an absolutely beautiful lip gloss! First off, however, let’s start with the packaging. It comes in a clear, square shaped tube with a gold top, and a tiny little mirror glued to the side. When you open it up, it’s got a doe foot applicator, and something even cooler – lights inside the cap! It’s meant to make it easier to apply in low light, in conjunction with the mirror on the side of the tube.

The formula itself is highly pigmented, very opaque, and quite sticky, and it has absolutely no shimmer or glitter. It can be applied like the average lip gloss, straight from the applicator all over the lips, for a high gloss look. Personally, I like to use it as more of a stain, dabbing some on the center of my bottom lip, and blending it outward in tapping motions with my finger, pressing it into my lips.

It’s a beautiful, universally flattering bright rosy shade, not too pink and not too red – perfect for every day wear. I absolutely love this gloss, but at $24 it can be a lot to shell out for a lip gloss – however, if you hurry, Gerard Cosmetics has these glosses on sale for 60% off! I believe it’s only for the month of December (2015) though, which makes them $9.60 each! So run!


ULTA MINERAL LIP GLOSS in ROSE GARNNET ($8)

IMG_7611

I was in an ULTA with my step-daughter Kayla one afternoon, and we happened across the ULTA Mineral Lip Glosses. This particular shade caught my eye, because it was bright and cheery and just beautiful. So I swatched it, and ultimately threw 2 of them in my shopping bag.

ULTA says about their glosses:

Get glittering shine while protecting your lips using Ulta’s nourishing Mineral Lip Gloss. Emollient blend of lip conditioners add moisture to lips while creating a shimmery finish.

The tube is your standard cylindrical lip gloss tube, clear so you can see the color of the product inside, with a brushed brass colored top. It has the typical doe foot applicator, and contains 0.14oz of product.

The formula is much thinner than the GC formula, and pretty slippery, and on the medium pigmentation side, with a touch of shimmer. Because it’s thinner, obviously it doesn’t wear nearly as long – I find myself having to touch up after just an hour or so – but at an $8 price point, that didn’t bother me. I love to wear this alone, or even layered over a lipstick for an added pop!

The color itself is pretty close, leaning a touch more on the red side, but when they’re swatched side by side, as you can see, it’s barely detectable. Like I said, it’s got a touch of golden shimmer, which isn’t terribly noticeable either. It’s very flattering on every skin tone, which is one of the things that drew me to it.


 So, is it a dupe?

IMG_9130It’s a pretty close call, but I have to go with…..it is NOT a dupe.

The formulas are totally different, one has shimmer, and the colors are close but not an exact match. But the ULTA gloss is a great alternative if you’re looking to experiment with a color like that but aren’t sure you want to put out that much money, plus shipping.

If I had to pick a favorite of the two, that would be another tough one – but I’d choose the Gerard Cosmetics. Honestly, while it is on the pricey side, if you use it sparingly (almost as a stain, like I suggested) it will last you a good long while. And I won’t lie, the little mirror and the lights in the cap appeal to the luxury lover in me!

Have you guys tried either of these products? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment below and let me know! I love to hear from you!

And please go follow me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito, and head on over to Facebook and give a like to the Affordable Gorgeous page, too! Your support means so much to me!

LOTS OF LOVE!

img_9363-1

Leave a comment