*LIMITED EDITION* MILANI AMORE MATTE LIP CREME REVIEW

 Ok, ok. Perhaps I’m a tad late to jump on the bandwagon here. But in my defense, while I was lusting after these for so long, there were other things in my life that were higher on the priority list than lippies!

I was in CVS one night about a week ago with my husband and my son, and as usual, I took my stroll down the beauty aisle while they went off to look at clearance Halloween decor. ‘Go, go, I need to focus!’ I said. So while I was browsing, the absolutely devastated Milani display caught my attention – ‘hmm, must have been a sale recently…‘. Then I spotted the remaining TWO Milani Amore Matte Lip Creme‘s, in Beloved and Desire. I snatched them like they were the last two lippies on Earth!

So here are my thoughts! I hope you enjoy!


COLORS

Photo Credit Pinterest & @iam_marie3

 Beloved is a really gorgeous, very wearable rosy nude brown kind of shade, which sort of reminds me of the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita (the good batch, not the bad batch) – possible dupe? Let it be known that when I first spotted these back at the end of the summer, Beloved was the first shade to catch my eye, because it was actually something I could wear on a regular basis, as I tend to keep my everyday look pretty neutral. But when every store I went to was sold out of that shade, I knew I wasn’t the only one who coveted it. I took to eBay and saw that shade going for a whopping $40! So needless to say when I found this, and it was on SALE, I had to make it mine!

 

 Desire is a very bright, middle of the road red shade. Not really blue based, but not really orangey either. Just a true red. And it spoke to me. It said ‘buy me too! You’ll love me for Christmas!‘ (don’t EVEN pretend that lippies don’t speak to you!) I knew I could totally build a look around it, and since these were the last two, I couldn’t just leave poor Desire to be tossed in a discount bin – I brought her home too.

FORMULA

left ; Beloved right ; Desire

 Upon initial swatching, these are SUPER creamy and VERY opaque – I really expected to have to build them up but it didn’t require much effort on my part to get a full, even coverage – already a win! When you first apply them, they appear glossy, but after a few minutes, dry down to a lovely satiny-matte finish. Not too dry where you can see every single lip line accentuated. If you tend to have dry, chapped, or flakey lips I would definitely recommend using a lip scrub AND a balm prior to application as you would with any matte lip color (wipe it off before the actual application, of course) but since I’m pretty heavy handed on a day to day basis with lip balm, and I try to keep my body as hydrated as possible, I didn’t have much issue at all.

LASTING POWER

They have pretty great staying power too. I really had to scrub at both my hand and my lips to get them off, and I noticed no bleeding or feathering whatsoever. This is probably the most important thing to me with any lip product, but most definitely something as bright as Desire, because well, who likes feathery lip color? NOT ME!

I would say you could get a solid 8-10 hour wear out of these, with MAYBE one touch up, depending on whether or not you’re say, going to dinner or for drinks wearing this. I don’t care what anyone says, there are almost no long wearing lip products out there that won’t break down during a meal, unless all you’re eating is bread and plain lettuce. Oils in foods, oil in coffee, these things break down lip products. But you won’t have major transfer, if you get my drift.


Overall, I think these are a wonderful product, and I really wish that they were part of Milani’s permanent collection, and that I was able to get my hands on a few more shades. But I’m happy that I was able to grab a few of them. And ESPECIALLY happy that I found Beloved!

Have you guys tried any of these? What were your thoughts? Do you have a favorite shade? Leave me a comment below!

And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito and go like the new Affordable Gorgeous page on Facebook!

LOTS OF LOVE & MATTE LIPS!

 

4 thoughts on “*LIMITED EDITION* MILANI AMORE MATTE LIP CREME REVIEW

  1. Pingback: NOVEMBER 2015 FAVORITES | AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS

Leave a comment