REVIEW – L’OREAL INFALLIBE PRO-MATTE FOUNDATION

img_0213We’re edging ever closer to spring! And if you’re anything like me, maybe you’re skin is getting a little bit oilier. Or maybe you’ve been oily all along. Or even combination. No matter, you’re gonna wanna stick around today!

Today I’m reviewing the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation ($12.99/drugstores); I know, not necessarily a new product. But I bought this awhile back, and it kind of made it’s way to the back of my foundation drawer. The other day while I was looking for something that would not only combat my newfound oil-slick of a face, but some serious redness that had appeared seemingly overnight, I spotted this.

Here’s what L’Oreal has to say about it:

Achieve a matte finish that won’t fall flat with this air-light, longwearing liquid formula. Lightweight and creamy, foundation goes on smooth with a demi-matte finish that lasts up to 24 hours—hiding imperfections for a smooth, clear complexion.

So, is it really all that? Let’s find out!


PACKAGING 

This foundation comes in a squeeze tube, which would probably fall second in my favorite delivery method for a foundation; obviously the first is a pump, both for sanitary reasons. It transparent black, twist off cap, and the tube itself shows the name printed on the front with a clear window in the center, allowing you to see the shade. And of course, you get the standard 1 fl. oz. of product.

FORMULA

This is neither a thick nor runny formula, but more somewhere in between. It is a water based foundation, and it comes in 12 shades ranging from super fair to deep. There seems to be, however, a leap between shades, in the sense that I find myself having to mix the two lightest shades (Classic Ivory 101 and Shell Beige 102) to get a proper match. Which isn’t a huge issue, as I typically have to mix foundations, but at $13 each, it’s basically the equivalent of going and buying a high end foundation. But the ever present sales at drugstores and ULTA make the need to mix hurt a little less, financially.

APPLICATION & WEAR

In terms of application, the tool is really up to you. I’ve applied it with both a damp sponge, and a brush, and either way I find it looks great. Of course with a sponge, you get a slightly more sheer application, but still a solid light-medium. When I applied it with a brush, which is a Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki, I first like to stipple it on, pressing it into the skin, and then blend it outward from the center of the face, buffing in circular motions. With a brush I can get a solid medium to almost full coverage. But either method you choose, the best part about this foundation is that, for the amount of coverage you can get from it, it still looks very natural on the skin. It’s like, your skin but better.

When it comes to wear, I’ve tried it on bare skin (with just my normal moisturizer) as well as a few different primers. Because it’s a demi-matte finish, and I still like to look a little dewy, I’ve found that using a pore minimizing primer in the center of my face and on my cheeks, like the Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer, and then a luminizing primer elsewhere like the L’Oreal Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer, really lends a beautiful, radiant yet smooth, natural finish to the skin.
The longevity of this foundation is what really astounds me, though. While it boasts up to 24 hours of wear, I don’t know anyone (certainly not me) who would wear their foundation for that long – but I’ve worn it upwards of 10 hours on my suddenly oily skin, and it stays put with no blotting or powdering. It doesn’t break apart, it doesn’t cling to dryness, and it doesn’t rub off easily in areas where I’m a known face-toucher (cheeks, jawline, temples, etc.) so color me impressed!

Overall rating : 4/5


Well guys, I think it’s safe to say that this has crept it’s way into the top 3 most reached for drugstore foundations; dare I say I might even like it better than my beloved Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup! I wish they would make a line of concealers to go along with the line of foundations, powders, lip products, etc!

Have you guys tried it yet? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around on social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

Leave a comment