ONE-BRAND FAVES: REVLON

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a post focusing on one specific brand! Today we’ll be talking about Revlon, which is probably one of my favorite drugstore makeup lines!

Now I did do one of these before, a one-brand favorites post about L’Oreal Paris (click here to read that post), and that particular one included products for just about every area of the face. This one, however, will not be that way, because well, I’m not necessarily fond on Revlon’s mascara or brow products, etc. But if you want to see what I do love from them, keep on reading!


REVLON PHOTOREADY PERFECTING PRIMER

IMG_8398-0I can honestly say that this is probably my number one most reached for Revlon product. I did a full review on this primer (which you can read here) but basically this stuff fills in any pores and fine lines, it feels more lotion-y than silicone-y (silicone primers irritate me) and it doesn’t break me out! It keeps me matte all day long, which is unheard of for my skin, and it keeps my makeup in place all day long. I have a lot of drugstore primers, and honestly I don’t really love them. But this one is my go-to!

REVLON COLORSTAY WHIPPED CREME MAKEUP

IMG_9301-0I’ve got a full review on this stuff too (click here) – I don’t know what it is about this foundation, but the longer I wear it, the better it looks! Most foundations break up on me by the end of the day, at least in the most common places – the sides of the nose, the smile lines, the chin and the center of my forehead – this stays put, and looks more and more natural as the day goes on! It’s got more of a satin matte finish, which I like, and while it seems like it would feel heavy judging by the consistency, it’s actually quite lightweight, which I love; nothing is worse than makeup that feels like a mask – it’s just so uncomfortable. Pick some up and try it for yourself – you won’t be sorry!

REVLON COLORSTAY MAKEUP FOR COMBO/OILY SKIN

IMG_9260You guessed it, there’s another post about it already (click here) – and this is actually a great dupe for a much more expensive liquid makeup – but you’ll have to go read the post to find out which one! This is one that, unlike the formula above, is quite mattifying, and something that I rely on for like a summer wedding or something like that – where I know I want good medium to full coverage, but something lightweight that keeps me totally matte. We all have that one trusty, tried and true standby makeup that we can always rely on, and this one is mine, hands down! If you’re not oily but still want great long-wearing coverage, they do make this in a formula for normal to dry skin as well, so they’ve got everyone covered (ha ha!).

REVLON PHOTOREADY SKINLIGHTS FACE ILLUMINATOR

 

 I think these are a highly underrated product! They’re liquid highlighters, and they come in four shades – Bare Lights, Pink Lights, Peach Lights, and Bronze Lights – to suit every skin tone. These are a-m-a-z-i-n-g not just on the face (great for strobing!)  but on the body as well, using a little on the collarbone, chest, shoulders, even down your shins in the summer for a gorgeous glow! I feel like they just don’t get the love they deserve! I haven’t seen them in stores in awhile though, so I’m wondering if they’ve been discontinued. You can click the link above which is a link to Amazon and I’ve found them for you, if you want to try them for yourself – and you should!!

REVLON HIGHLIGHTING PALETTE

 

 I love these. They’re also great dupes for the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Bricks *wink wink* and they come in three shades; a pink, a peach, and a bronze. There are five individual shades within each palette that can be used as singles, which is great for adding a gorgeous glowy highlight or some sheen on the lids or brow bone, or you can swirl them all together for an all over gleam! This is another of their items that I just can’t understand why hardly anyone talks about them, they’re wonderful!

REVLON PHOTOREADY CREAM BLUSHES

IMG_8884This is an item that I do believe is being discontinued, as I’ve been seeing them with the orange clearance tags at my local Walgreens, so now is the time to go snap them up! I’ve done a full review on these too, surprise surprise (click here) and I absolutely love them! I feel like they just look more natural and wear far longer than any of my powder blushes! I like to apply these with a stippling brush underneath my foundation for the most natural effect. If you want to try them and have trouble finding them locally, you can click on the link above and order them there!

REVLON SUPER LUSTROUS LIPSTICK

 

 I think I can honestly say that as far as drugstore lipstick goes, this is the best of the best. Seven decades – that’s 70 years! – and 82 shades to choose from in 4 different finishes! The Revlon lipstick game is strong! With everything from nudes to reds to my personal favorite shade, Black Cherry, if I could only ever again recommend one brand of lipstick, this would be the one! They’re comfortable, they have amazing color payoff, they wear very well, they’re just all around incredible! And they won the “Allure Magazine Reader’s Choice Award” in both 2014 and 2015!! Guys, million of people can’t be wrong, can they?!

REVLON COLORBURST LIP BUTTER

 

 I’ve lost count on how many of these I own. I feel like every trip to the drugstore yields at least 2 of them to make sure I always have them on hand! They’re a gorgeous, hydrating gel formula, with great color payoff, and a great shade selection! Some of my favorites are Pink Truffle, which is like, the perfect MLBB (my lips but better) shade, Peach Parfait, a shimmery, summery peach, and Fig Jam, which looks intimidatingly brown but sheers out over the lips for the perfect deepened version of your natural lip color – Fig Jam is also a great dupe for Clinique’s Almost Lipstick in Black Honey! Some shades have been discontinued already and some are on the list to be next so get them while you can!!


What do you guys think of Revlon cosmetics? What different ones have you tried? Leave me a comment and let me know! Additionally, if there’s a specific brand you’d like me to focus on for a future post like this, leave me a comment on that as well!

And please go follow me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito, and go like the Affordable Gorgeous page on Facebook!

LOTS OF LOVE!!

img_9363-3

Leave a comment