REVIEW – NIVEA MEN’S POST SHAVE BALM (SENSITIVE)

 “Why is she reviewing a men’s product? What does that have to do with makeup??”

Well, my darlings, let me tell you….

Some of you may or may not know, that this product is currently taking the beauty world by storm and being used as a…..PRIMER!

Thanks to YouTuber Nikkie Tutorials (check her out here), many others – myself included – have taken to using this product as a primer for makeup!

Basically the way it works, is that its alcohol-free, contains glycerin, which helps hydrate the skin and grab on to makeup, as well as some other great skin-loving ingredients, and it’s super gentle – perfect for sensitive skin! Think about it – many men experience some redness, bumps, and irritation post-shave, right? This product moisturizes, soothes, and creates a perfect just-tacky-enough surface for your makeup to stick to.

I’m going to do this in the same format as other reviews (obvi), so let’s get into it!


PACKAGING

This product comes in a sturdy, white plastic bottle with a twist off cap. Personally because of the consistency (which I’ll get into in a minute) I’d have loved to see a pump, but hey – it wasn’t designed for us, so I can let that slide. For roughly $6 – I got mine at Walmart but it’s readily available in drugstores and grocery stores nationwide – you get a whopping 3.3 fl oz – considering most primers, drugstore or high end, are usually less than half of that amount for 4 times as much or more, that’s a hell of a deal! The bottle is heavy, made of sturdy plastic, which would make it great for a weekend away! (Not airplane friendly though, it’s too much product!)

FORMULA

It has a thin, milky white consistency that, as I mentioned above, I would have preferred to see with a pump. But as long as you’re careful, you have pretty decent control over the amount you’re pouring into your hand.
It does have a scent – obviously – it smells like mens aftershave, like cologne. But it’s not terribly strong, and it wears away within a few minutes. However I caution those of you who are sensitive to fragrance – it’s there. If you’re not, well, you’ll just smell like a sexy guy for a half hour or so!

APPLICATION & WEAR

In the way of application, I generally pour a small amount (about the size of a dime) into my hand, and then rub my hands together to sort of warm up the product before applying it to my face. When I applied it to my face, I noticed that it had quite a bit of slip – however, the longer you massage it into the skin, it begins to get kind of tacky – that’s the perfect consistency to go ahead and put your makeup on top of.

In terms of testing the wear, I approached this in a few different ways – basically I experimented over the course of three days, trying this product with a foundation, a concealer, and a BB cream. On all 3 occasions, I’ll say that this stuff performs pretty well! Now one thing to note – this isn’t a pore filling, line smoothing primer – this is simply something to sooth and moisturize, that will allow your makeup to apply fluidly and with something to grab on to. If you have a problem with large pores or fine lines, you may want to use a separate primer in those specific areas.

But overall, I found that regardless of using a foundation, concealer, or a BB cream, they all wore (and wore evenly!) for a solid 8 hours! That’s pretty damn good for a product that isn’t marketed as a makeup primer!


I have to say, I’m glad I took the plunge (you all know how nervous I get about incorporating new skin care) because this is a wonderful product! If you can look past the scent, I would definitely suggest spending the $6 or so and picking up a bottle for yourself!!

Have any of you tried this yet? What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear from you – leave me a comment below!

And please take a moment to go follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest @dlynnesposito, and go like the Affordable Gorgeous page on Facebook! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!

img_9363-3

8 thoughts on “REVIEW – NIVEA MEN’S POST SHAVE BALM (SENSITIVE)

  1. Pingback: FAVORITE DRUGSTORE PRIMERS | AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS

  2. Pingback: WHY YOU SHOULD BE USING ALOE VERA AS A MAKEUP PRIMER! | AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS

Leave a comment