MAKEUP DE-CLUTTER WEEK #1 : MASCARA

 

Hey guys!

A few days ago, I asked you on Instagram (if you’re not following me there, you totally should be!) if you’d be interested in seeing a weekly de-clutter series.

The reason behind wanting to de-clutter my collection is essentially the same as anyone else; it’s getting a little out of control, there are old products that have expired, thing I didn’t like and set aside, and things that I’m just plain ‘ol not reaching for at all.

I figured today I would start with one of the larger areas of my collection; MASCARA!

In this series, I’ll walk you through what I’m keeping, what I’m tossing or giving away, and why – however, with things like mascara for example, if I’m not keeping them, they’re going in the trash, for very obvious, sanitary reasons.

So let’s get started!


 MY MASCARA COLLECTION

 

Ok, ok, I know what you must be thinking; “who the hell needs that much mascara!?”. Fair enough.
And you’re right, I don’t need it all. I’ve had a lot of these for quite some time, and many of them are well past their respective expiration date.
To be honest, this will probably be one of the harder categories for me, as I’ve had a love/hate relationship with most of these – but I narrowed it down and it’s way less than you may think!

WHAT I’M TOSSING

  

 Top Row:

CoverGirl Lash Blast Clump Crusher (one in Brown, one in Black) – basically it’s just old. I love it, but it’s old.
CoverGirl Lash Blast Length (one regular, one waterproof) – again, they’re old. 
ULTA Legendary Lengths Mascara – this was in a ‘gift w. purchase’ bag, but I really didn’t like it.
Maybelline The Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara – I can’t stand the brush; it’s flexes, and the bristles are too far apart.
L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Mascara – rather than a million lashes, it looked more like 4 or 5 real clumpy ones; not a fan.
Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express (Waterproof) – I bought this to dupe it against a high end brand, and I just really don’t like it at all.
Hard Candy Ginormous Lash Volumizing Mascara – this was pretty good, it’s just old.
Rimmel London Volume Accelerator Mascara – I found this on clearance, and I can’t stand the wand; it’s oddly tapered shape does nothing for me.
Rimmel London Wonderlash Mascara w. Argan Oil – this was actually pretty good; I liked how soft my lashes were. It’s just old and time for it to go.

Bottom Row:

Maybelline One by One Volum’ Express Mascara – this one flaked off of my lashes pretty heavily, so I just set it aside and forgot about it. Buh-bye!
CoverGirl Lash Blast Volume – loved it. It got old. That’s all.
CoverGirl Lash Blast Clump Crusher (see above)
Maybelline Illegal Lengths Mascara – something about this one irritated my eyes; fibers maybe? Does it have fibers? Anyway, gone!
Wet N’ Wild MegaLash Clinical Mascara – I actually really liked this; it came as a set with a lash serum, which I’m scraping the bottom of now. It just dried out and it’s old. I can’t keep it.
Rimmel London Lash Accelerator Endless Fibers Mascara – fibers. ‘Nuff said. It’s irritates me.
CoverGirl Lash Blast Fusion – my first ever ‘Lash Blast’; I loved it, I recommend it, but it’s old.
CoverGirl Lash Blast Full Lash Bloom – I was back and forth with this one; my lashes were soft, but the brush was really scratchy and hurt my eyes. In any event, it’s old, and time to go.

WHAT I’M KEEPING

  

Left to Right :

Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara – I just love it. I love it.
L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Mascara – I’ve literally never loved a lengthening mascara more.
Maybelline The Falsies Flared Volum’ Express Mascara – I actually bought this by mistake when I went to purchase the original ‘The Falsies’ and well…I don’t hate it!
CoverGirl Lash Blast Clump Crusher Extensions – this is fairly new, and I really am enjoying this mascara. I get amazing length and curl as well!
Maybelline Pumped Up! Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara – this is actually a dead tube; but I love it so much and it’s there to remind me to repurchase. It stays put for like, ever!
L’Oreal Voluminous Original Mascara – in the past, I wasn’t a fan; however lately I’ve been reaching for it more and more, and as long as I wipe off the brush, it’s fantastic!
L’Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tubes Mascara – I love, love, love this mascara! The primer lengthens and the mascara itself gives you the most beautiful, doll-like lashes ever! Try it!
Rimmel London Lash Accelerator Mascara – this will forever be a staple in my collection. I can’t confirm whether or not it actually makes my lashes grow, but it makes them look long and wispy, and it’s my fave to apply before false lashes because it doesn’t get in the way.
Maybelline Define-A-Lash Mascara – an oldie, but a goodie. If you’re looking for long, natural looking lashes that mimic expensive extensions, you’ll really like this.
Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara – yeah, I know. It came in a two-pack. What-evs. It’s that good.
L’Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Mascara – “but you said fibers bother your eyes!” Yes. They do. But these stay on my lashes without flaking off, so it works for me. I definitely want to use this more!
Laura Geller Glam Lash Mascara (deluxe sample) – back when I reviewed this, I really wasn’t a fan. But I dropped a bit of saline solution into it, and it’s actually pretty decent! I think I just got an older batch.
Benefit They’re Real! Mascara (deluxe sample) – I actually received this sample for free at ULTA with a tear-out advertisement. It’s ok. I like the length (a little spidery looking though), I hate the brush (it hurts my eyes), and I love how it stays put all day long without budging at all!
Buxom Vanity Lash Mascara w. Big & Bushy Brush (deluxe sample) – this came in the Buxon Objects of Obsession kit (for Sephora VIB members) back around Christmas time and I really like it. I definitely plan to repurchase it when I’m done with the sample. 


TOSS TOTAL: 18
KEEP TOTAL : 14

Well, guys, I think that’s a pretty successful first de-clutter session! I can’t believe I started with 32 mascaras!! Thirty-freakin’-two! That’s a lot of mascara!

I have to admit though, it’s a liberating feeling! I think that by the time I’m done de-cluttering everything, I’m going to feel pretty damn amazing!

Have you guys ever done a makeup de-clutter? What kind of things did you toss or keep? Have you tried any of these mascaras? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

 

6 thoughts on “MAKEUP DE-CLUTTER WEEK #1 : MASCARA

  1. I haven’t tried any of those mascaras. I try to de-clutter every year or so. I usually get rid of whatever has expired or stuff that sucked. I have this habit of trying to make products work, especially eye shadows and lipsticks.

    Like

Leave a comment