DRUGSTORE MAKEUP KIT FOR BEGINNERS

 Hey guys! Every so often I go through my collection and sort of ‘declutter’. Basically I get rid of things that I’m not using or don’t like or what have you. If I find unused or just barely swatched items that are age-appropriate, I usually pass them on to my step-daughter, who at almost 14, is taking quite an interest in all things beauty.

And the same is true for many girls her age. However, thanks to YouTube, these 13 and 14 year old girls want the expensive stuff – MAC, Urban Decay, Marc Jacobs – and not only is that stuff not always in the budget, but for girls who are just learning, and will likely be wiping off too-heavy foundation or concealer while they perfect their technique, practicing with a $60 foundation or $30 concealer just isn’t, well…practical.

So if you want to see my recommendations for a beginner’s makeup kit, just keep reading!


BB CREAM & FOUNDATION 

 

 Nine times out of 10, if you’re a young girl, you have pretty great skin. Until you hit those pesky teenage years. Even then, you might be blessed enough to be the girl that has a flawless complexion (I was not). If so, then a BB cream will suit your needs just fine. One of my favorites is the Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream ($9) (and I’m pushing 30!) which is oil free and contains Salicylic Acid to help treat and prevent breakouts. It offers decent coverage (think sheer but buildable to a light/medium) and is great for evening out your skin tone and covering a bit of redness.
However, if you’re someone who is more comfortable with a fuller coverage, I recommend the Revlon ColorStay Whipped Cream Makeup ($15), which is a medium coverage foundation, perfect for all skin types, and it covers imperfections very well, without ever feeling or looking heavy.

CONCEALER 

 

 Chances are you don’t have many dark circles to cover, but if you do, color correcting before concealing is super important. NYX Dark Circle Concealer ($6) is great for that, because it corrects and conceals all at once.
If you’re looking for a do-it-all concealer, especially for blemishes or acne scarring, Maybelline Fit Me Concealer ($7) and Maybelline FaceStudio Master Conceal ($9) are both fantastic options. Maybelline Fit Me has a very light, gel consistency, but offers a solid medium coverage, and the Maybelline FaceStudio Master Conceal is a creamier formula, which will make any blemish disappear. Be sure to set these with a powder though, as they can be prone to creasing.

POWDER

 

 Every girl needs a good translucent powder in her arsenal. It can set your foundation and concealer, make you look airbrushed, and help ease the blending process for any blush or bronzer you plan to use. One of my faves is the e.l.f. High Definition Translucent Loose Powder ($6). It’s inexpensive, and it’s been compared to super fancy, high end brands!

BLUSH & BRONZER

 

 Blush and bronzer are definitely very important. They bring warmth and dimension back to your face. I’m not talking contouring – that’s way too dramatic for school-aged girls. But a nice light wash of bronzer like Rimmel Natural Bronzer ($5) is great for bringing the life back your skin. It’s matte, waterproof, looks very natural, and it’s not too orangey or warm.
As for blush, one of my absolute favorites that works on nearly every skin tone is the Milani Baked Blush in ‘Luminoso’ ($8). It’s a universally flattering peachy-pink shade that contains a very subtle amount of super fine shimmer. It’s barely detectable, but it just leaves you looking glowy and healthy.

BROWS

 

 This is all based on personal preference. However for beginners, I would definitely steer clear of any pomades – they’ll look too harsh and overly sculpted, plus they can be tricky to use. I always like to recommend brow powders (or even eyeshadows!) for beginners, as they’re the easiest to work with and the most natural looking. I’ve recently gone back to filling mine in with powder again, using the Salon Perfect Brow Defining Kit ($9), which comes with three brow shades, a highlight shade, a dual ended brush/spoolie, and a waxy crayon to help keep everything in place.

EYE MAKEUP

 

 Makeup is all about experimentation – and what better way to express yourself than eyeshadow? The one brand I will recommend ten times over is Morphe. Their palettes contain 35 colors each, though there are a few smaller, 12 pan palettes, and they’re around $20! You won’t EVER find a deal like that at your local drugstore! They range from dark smokey colors to neutrals to vibrant hues! And they’re amazing quality – if you’ve been around here with me for awhile you know that I have a special place in my heart for all things Morphe.

Mascara, on the other hand, will be all about individual needs and desired effect. I will say though, that Covergirl’s Lash Blast line is incredible, and Maybelline has some great ones too – my fave from Maybelline is their Volum’ Express Pumped Up! Colossal Volume Mascara ($8), which gives lift, volume, length, and it doesn’t move, all day long. Plus it’s hot pink chubby tube will never, ever get lost in your makeup bag!

LIPS

 

 Ohhh this is a fun one for me. You know how much I love my lippies. I definitely advise against fully opaque, traditional lipsticks – let your natural beauty shine! I love, love the NYX Butter Gloss ($5) line, especially in the shade ‘Angel Food Cake’ which is flattering on everyone – and they smell like cupcakes!
If you prefer a lipstick, I highly recommend the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters ($9), or the Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipstick ($7) (both made by the same company) which is kind enough to break it down by skin tone, helping you find your perfect shade. I’m partial to the shade ‘Nude Light/Medium’ myself – it’s the perfect MLBB (my lips but better) shade! They have nudes, pinks, berry shades, and reds for every skin tone!
If you’re a stain kinda girl (I love them, you don’t have to reapply them after lunch!) then I recommend the L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Wet Shine Stain ($8), which goes on like a gloss, and fades to a pretty stain – I believe they might be being discontinued though, so look on Amazon or eBay, or keep an eye out in your local discount/dollar store!


 Ok, so I know it’s a long list – and by no means do I want you to feel like you have to purchase every single product listed – this is merely a guide to get you started! Feel free to tailor it to your needs, wants, and budget!
Have you guys tried any of these products? What are some of your favorite beginner items? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around on social media!
Twitter & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

5 thoughts on “DRUGSTORE MAKEUP KIT FOR BEGINNERS

  1. YES! Love this post 🙂 It’s so true. Young girls often have great skin and really don’t need the heavy stuff just yet. I wish more girls would keep it fun and play with makeup as a hobby not as a way to look like so-and-so, those makeup skills come in time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment