REVIEW – e.l.f. CREAM EYELINER

 It’s like it happened in slow-mo….up in the air, and face down onto the floor. Cap missing. Dirty, totally unsalvageable.

I’m talking about my eyeliner. My trusty, ride or die Maybelline Eyestudio Gel Liner in Blackest Black. But let me back up a bit….

About two weeks ago, my little pot of liner hit the floor. The cap disappeared, and it managed to land upside down and end up with carpet fibers and dust inside of it, which despite my best efforts (and searching desperately for the cap to no avail) I couldn’t save it. And of course, it happened right in the middle of a tutorial. During a financially crappy week, at that.

So a few days later, after searching online reviews for another, slightly more affordable gel liner, I bit the bullet and bought the e.l.f. Cream Eyeliner, which retails for just $3 at my local CVS, as well as http://www.elfcosmetics.com.

Here’s what e.l.f. has to say:

The cream formula creates smooth lines that are defined and precise. Smudge-proof, budge-proof and water-resistant coverage for all day wear to combat against sweat, tears or rain! Achieve thin or bold lines with ease. Slanted Eyeliner Brush included.

So how did it do? Let’s find out!


PACKAGING

 

 It comes in a small, square glass jar, with a square, black, plastic lid with the name of the product printed on top. While it did come with a brush, it was awfully tiny (short), and I immediately tossed it in the trash.

FORMULA

They aren’t kidding when they call it a cream eyeliner – it’s definitely creamy. However, being used to the stiffer, slightly drier consistency of the Maybelline product, I find this quite difficult to work with. It loads nicely onto an angled liner brush, but because it’s so creamy, I find that I have trouble controlling the brush. The liner I’m used to working with, because it’s far less creamy, seems to keep the brush hairs together better.

APPLICATION & WEAR

Alright, so I kind of gave it away by describing the formula. As I mentioned, I had a lot of trouble controlling this product. It also seems to take a few minutes to truly dry down and set in place, which can mean big time transferring issues if you have hooded eyes like I do.
Another thing I wasn’t crazy about was that, while in the pot it’s very, very black (which is nice), once you begin to trace it along the lash line, it kind of thins out and gets streaky. I found that I had apply at least three coats before it reached the opacity I wanted.
Once it finally sets, however, it does stay in place. For the hell of it, I drew a ‘wing’ on the back of my hand, and it stayed put with minimal fading for almost two days.
It might be ok for someone without hooded eyes, who wants to simply define the eyes. But when I tried to draw a nice, sharp wing, it was no where near as precise as I would have liked – and trying to sharpen it with a makeup wipe, Q-tip, or concealer was just a mess.

Overall Rating : 2.5/5


Honestly, I’ll probably pass this on to my sister, as she has big, round eyes and could probably use this with no trouble.
And lesson learned; next time I won’t be so frugal, and I’ll just buy the damn liner that I love!

Have any of you guys tried this product? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-2

6 thoughts on “REVIEW – e.l.f. CREAM EYELINER

Leave a comment