HOW I CLEAN MY FALSE LASHES

img_9661

So we all know that false lashes are probably one of the most incredible (and sometimes frustrating!), innovative, lovely additions to any makeup look. They take an average look above and beyond, and lend a lovely accompaniment to everything from a natural glam makeup look to the most badass smokey eye. And they come in a variety of styles, materials, and even colors to suit every occasion.

With that being said, sometimes they can be expensive. Ranging from synthetic fibers, to silk, to human hair, and even mink fur; there are literally lashes for everything! Personally, I can’t bring myself to spend $20+ on a pair of lashes, so I typically stick with my drugstore finds – KISS, Ardell, Salon Perfect, etc. And they’re awesome. And sometimes, I come across styles that are maybe discontinued, but that I just can’t part with after one or two uses.

So today I want to share with you how I keep my lashes in top condition just a little bit longer – if you want to know, then keep reading!


What you need :

  • a pair of used lashes
  • a bowl of warm, soapy water
  • Q-tips
  • paper towel
  • rubbing alcohol in a spray bottle

First, you wanna give your lashes a little spritz with the alcohol – however, I really only recommend doing this with synthetic lashes – if you spray alcohol on silk, mink, or human hair, you’ll likely damage them, as the alcohol is obviously very harsh and drying.

 

 Place the lashes in a bowel of warm, soapy water. You only need a small drop of soap. Let the lashes soak for about 10 minutes.

 

 When you remove the lashes from the water, pat them dry on the paper towel. Then gently pull off as much of the glue as you can. If the glue is especially resistant, you can try a little more alcohol on a Q-tip, or even a little oil-based makeup remover. That should break down the glue even further, making it much easier to remove almost, if not all, of the residual glue. After that, just place them back on the tray to reshape and dry. There may be a straggly hair or two, but those are easy to just snip off, and one or two won’t make a different in the appearance of the lashes.


One of the biggest things that I can’t possibly stress enough is to have patience!! It’s likely that you’ve used the lashes more than once or twice before trying to clean them, so removing all that glue is going to take some time. But it can be done!

If you look at the picture above, those are my Kiss Blooming Lashes in ‘Lily’, which came clean fairly easily, and reshaped nicely. However, the missing pair of Ardell Demi Wispies ended up in the trash because I had used them probably four to five times before attempting to clean them. They just didn’t hold up. But cleaning them after at least two uses, should get you roughly eight to ten wears before you have to toss them out. More expensive lashes can go upwards of 20 uses before having to be replaced.

I hope you guys found this post helpful! How do you clean your falsies? Do you try to clean them, or just replace them? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-2

2 thoughts on “HOW I CLEAN MY FALSE LASHES

Leave a comment