IS IT A DUPE? – ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS BROW WIZ vs. NYX MICROBROW

 I’m back again with another dupe post, guys! And this one is a good one! Like REALLY good! Today it’s the battle of the brow pencils! We’ll be comparing ABH Brow Wiz and NYX Cosmetics MicroBrow pencils! I’ll be comparing them both in the shade Chocolate.
Let me start by saying that I usually am not a fan of brow pencils. They’re waxy, chunky, fake looking, and I can almost never get a symmetrical, natural look from them. I usually reach for brow powder or tinted, fiber infused brow mascara.

WELL NOT ANYMORE! 

LET’S COMPARE!


  PACKAGING

One thing that I love about BOTH of these products is that they both are slim, retractable pencils with a spoolie at the opposite end. They are super portable, easy to travel and take along for touch ups, and because the spoolie is built in, there’s no fishing around your collection or your bag for another tool. The only notable difference in the packaging is…the font….they’re identical. The spoolie on the ABH his every so slightly longer, but other than that, if I closed my eyes and you handed them to me and asked me to tell you which was which? I couldn’t do it.

FORMULA

They both have a waxy, slightly dry yet slightly creamy consistency. I’ve read some reviews where people have said that the NYX was drier than the ABH, however I didn’t notice that. Both shades appear identical to me. I really didn’t notice more warmth or cooler tones in one or other other. The super slim pencil allows for teeny tiny precise hair-like strokes, making it look incredibly natural, more so than any pencil I’ve ever used. I would say that the formulas are identical, and I honestly wouldn’t be shocked if they were made in the same lab and they just slapped different names on them!

PERFORMANCE

I get pretty decent wear time out of both products. I apply my makeup at 6am, and by the time I take it all OFF  at around 8 or 830pm, my brows haven’t budged. Now whether or not it has to do with my application method, I can’t be sure. But I can tell you that when I initially swatched both products side by side, they wore equally and I really had to rub to get it to come off. When I do my brows I always set it with the Anastasia Clear Brow Gel, but I really don’t think that makes a difference as far as how long either product wears.

Side by side comparison on my brows


So – what’s the verdict?

*drumroll please…..*

 

IT’S A DUPE! 

From packaging to shade variety to formula to wear time – it’s a dupe! They both are identical (to me, at least!) so why pay double for the same product?! And quite often ULTA has the NYX one on sale, like buy 1 get 1 half off, so you can get a few of them, use that handy dandy $3.50 off $10 (the ABH is almost ALWAYS excluded from coupons) coupon on the back of the flyer, and save even more! So while I love them both equally, I also love having more money in my wallet and a few extra (or back up) brow pencils around!

I hope this was helpful to you guys!! Have you tried either? Or even BOTH? What are your thoughts? I love to hear from you guys, so let me know what YOU think in the comments below!!!

If you’re not following me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito go do it!! Pretty please!?! Lots of exciting stuff coming up and you don’t wanna miss it!

LOTS OF LOVE!

XOXO – DONNA

2 thoughts on “IS IT A DUPE? – ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS BROW WIZ vs. NYX MICROBROW

Leave a comment