REVIEW – MAKEUP GEEK CONTOUR POWDERS

 Hey guys! It’s time for another review/swatch/demo of a new product that was produced by one of my absolute favorite brands – Makeup Geek!

That’s right, we’re talking about the Makeup Geek Contour Powders!!!

When I heard these were launching I was so excited to try them, and when I saw the video showing the shades, naturally my excitement grew and grew!

Here’s what Makeup Geek has to say;

All About Contour Powders:
Super soft and buttery smooth, Makeup Geek Contour Powders blend like a dream and have been specifically designed to accommodate skin tone extremes and everything in between. From the lightest of light, to the deepest of deep, we have your shade. Choose from a complete lineup of 8 unique shades—four with warm undertones and four with cool undertones.

 There are eight shades total in the line, ranging from porcelain to deep, in both cool and warm undertones. I ordered ‘Breakup’ which is for cool, porcelain skintones, and ‘Infidelity’ which is for cool, fair skintones. Of course, this is just to start – with time will come the rest!

These retail for $10 each, which is a fabulous price for the quality (which we’ll discuss, of course!) or you can purchase a bundle of all eight shades for a discounted rate of $65, perfect for the freelance artist with a large variety in their client base!

If you want to know more, keep on reading!


PACKAGING

 

 These contour powders are sold in individual pans, which are meant to be popped into a magnetic palette, like a Z Palette. They come in Makeup Geek’s standard single-pan envelope, which is a black, white, and hot pink design with a clear window allowing you to see the shade of the product inside. When you open the envelope, out slides a black, folio style protective sleeve where the product is housed.

FORMULA

 

Top : Breakup (cool porcelain); Bottom: Infidelity (cool fair)

 Like buttah! No, seriously, these are insanely creamy and smooth to the touch! There is a little bit of fallout, but to be fair, it is a powder – you’re going to have fallout to some degree, it’s inevitable. They’re probably a medium on the pigmentation scale, but that’s a good thing – it means they’re buildable, and I don’t know about you, but I personally am not a fan of an overly intense contour!

APPLICATION & WEAR

I’ve worn both shades separately, and I’ve mixed them, and of course I’ve tried them with a bunch of different brushes, all which give a varied result. My favorite way to apply them is with either an e.l.f. Small Tapered Brush, or a Morphe M438.
When I want a very natural, daytime appropriate contour, I like to use ‘Breakup’, which is the shade formulated for cool, porcelain skin, on the e.l.f. Small Tapered Brush. It gives a beautifully blended finish that looks like you have perfectly placed, God-given shadows on your face.
When I’m feeling a bit more dramatic, I like to use the shade ‘Breakup’ as more of a bronzer, and then create a sharper contour using the NARS ITA brush with a little bit of ‘Infidelity’ layered over it. Check out the photo below to see what they actually look like on the skin; this photo is from a recent tutorial, so click here if you want to check it out!

img_0389

Overall Rating : 5/5


You guys, these contour powders are absolutely incredible! I can only hope that there are highlight powders following suit!
Have you guys tried these yet? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment and let me know! I love to hear from you!

Come follow me around on social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

Leave a comment