REVIEW – ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS CREAM CONTOUR KIT

 So it took me awhile, but I finally got my hands on the cream contour kit of the moment – the creme de la creme, if you will.

That’s right, I’m talking about the Anastasia Beverly Hills Cream Contour Kit ($40)! It’s not exactly a new item (I believe it was released sometime last year), but I had been holding out in hopes that they would somehow receive my telepathic cries for help and release a selection of shades for those of us that are simply too light for the ‘Light’ kit.

And they did! When the kit dropped in ‘Fair’, my jaw dropped just as hard. And I knew I needed it. Here’s what they have to say:

This best-selling, easy-to-use palette contains three highlighting and three contouring shades that work together to help you sculpt, define, and enhance your natural features. Create the illusion of higher cheekbones, a smaller forehead, a softer jawline, or a slimmer nose with these smooth formulas that blend seamlessly while imparting a subtle, dewy sheen.

So is it all it’s cracked up to be? Keep reading to find out!


PACKAGING 

 

 Originally, the cream contour kit came packaged in the same way as the powder kit; magnetic, removable pans housed in a black, cardboard like palette with the name embossed on the front in a gold finish. For whatever reason they changed the packaging of the cream contour kit, and it now comes in a hard, plastic palette with a clear lid. Travel friendly? Maybe; it feels sturdy enough. I’ll report back should I travel with it in the future.

FORMULA

 

L to R: Soft Light, Lustre, Fair, Fawn, Shadow, Mink

 For a cream formula, it is a little on the dry side. It’s a very thick texture, and I’d venture to say that it’s better suited for combination or oily skin, maybe normal, but it could be tricky for dry skin. As many of you know, I have combination skin, primarily oily in the t-zone, but normal/dry on the cheeks, and this formula works well for me. The swatches above are on my pasty-white, NC15 arm, for shade reference.

APPLICATION & WEAR

I’ve never had such a natural looking contour. While many heavy, cream based formulas, including most foundations, tend to sink into my pores and fine lines, this one doesn’t. I get a super defined, yet natural looking contour that lasts. Seriously, all day long; it doesn’t budge.
I find the best way to apply this is with my fingers, and blend it out with a combination of a damp sponge and a semi-dense synthetic brush. The highlight shades are a bit heavy to use under the eyes, but they’re great for the forehead, nose, cupids bow and chin. So far I’ve made use of every contour shade, and they all look incredibly natural. A light dusting of powder is optional, as I find that most days I don’t even need it, but heading into summer (or ‘oily season’) it never hurts to add a touch.

Overall Rating : 5/5


img_1003

Have you guys tried this cream contour kit yet? What are your favorite cream contour products? Leave me a comment and let me know! I love to hear from you!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363

One thought on “REVIEW – ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS CREAM CONTOUR KIT

Leave a comment