REVIEW | COVERGIRL SUPER SIZER FIBERS MASCARA

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 3.42.02 PM**I received this product free for review purposes from Influenster – all opinions are 100% my own**

Hey guys!
So I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a member of a website called Influenster. Basically, it’s a site (and an app!) where you can search for and/or leave product reviews, and every so often, they send out products to members to try out and review in a package called a VoxBox.

I got one the other day with some products from Covergirl; a new mascara called the ‘Super Sizer Fibers‘ ($6.99/ULTA), and a self-sharpening eyeliner called ‘The Perfect Point Eyeliner’. They eyeliner has been around for awhile, but the mascara is brand, spankin’ new, and I thought I would review it for you guys!

Let’s start with a product description from Covergirl:

Discover 400% more volume and get the look of long, dark, amplified lashes with Super Sizer
Fibers Mascara. Our specialized formula contains built-in fibers for the ultimate false-lash extension effect

So, if you want to know what I thought of this mascara, keep on reading!


PACKAGING

This mascara comes in a pretty, turquoise/teal colored tube with metallic purple writing. When you open it, you’ll find a plastic bristle wand that flares at the end (similar to their other ‘Super Sizer’ mascara) and is flat on two sides with bristles on the opposite sides. It’s designed this was to twist and comb through the lashes when applying.

FORMULA

The formula is unlike the typical Covergirl formula; its very wet. Think like, brand new Maybelline mascara wet. Usually, I love Covergirl mascaras because they’re that perfect balance of not-too-wet and not-too-dry. This might be one that I have to let dry out a bit before I really enjoy it.

APPLICATION & WEAR

Ok, here we go.
As far as application goes, I’ll be honest; I can’t stand this damn brush. It picks up way too much product thanks to its flat sides, and it doesn’t comb through my lashes the way I would like. Perhaps if it were made of traditional bristles versus these obnoxious little plastic ones…..
However, because it tapers closer to the handle and gets thinner, it makes it easy to grab those outer lashes that usually make you smudge your mascara and leave you that accidental smokey eye (sometimes good, sometimes bad).
When I tried to twist the wand as the package instructed, all I got were super clumpy, spidery lashes that, while it did lengthen them quite a bit (which I like), I found myself reaching for my metal lash comb to separate them (and poking myself in the eye with it) which was rather inconvenient if you’re someone who like to apply your mascara quickly and run out the door. Overall, it looks nice, but honestly, popping on a pair of falsies is much faster, at least for me. Below is a photo of my bare lashes, and one of my lashes with a few coats of this product:

In terms of wear, I didn’t experience any flaking or smudging, which my sensitive eyes appreciated. And since I have long bottom lashes, many mascaras tend to smudge because they touch the skin under my eyes; this one behaved.
And removal was easy; I simply held a baby wipe over my eyes for a few seconds to loosen the product before wiping it away.

OVERALL RATING : 3/5


You guys, I had really high hopes for this mascara, and sadly, I was kinda disappointed. But I do plan to keep working with it and see if I can get the hang of the brush, or maybe if it’s better as the formula dries out.

Have any of you guys tried this yet? Leave me your comments below!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

One thought on “REVIEW | COVERGIRL SUPER SIZER FIBERS MASCARA

Leave a comment