REVIEW – NARS RADIANT CREAMY CONCEALER

  So someone said to me the other day “I thought your blog was called Affordable Gorgeous? I’ve noticed that you’ve been sneaking in more high end, expensive stuff – what gives?”.

We all love high end makeup. My blog is primarily about affordable makeup and drugstore buys, but I also find a lot of products (both high end and drugstore) on eBay. I search and search, especially if there is something in particular I want to try. Like the concealer I want to talk about today.

I found the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer on eBay, and won the bid at $19 with free shipping. The full retail price of this product is $29. So that’s a savings of $10!

This is a Holy Grail product to many, and I wanted to see why! Here’s what NARS has to say about their product :

Coveted by artists for its luxurious texture and luminous finish, new Radiant Creamy Concealer evens skin with lightweight medium to high buildable coverage. Enriched with hydrating, multi-action skincare benefits and light diffusing technology, it creates a softer, smoother complexion while instantly obscuring imperfections and diminishing fine lines and signs of fatigue.

  • Long wearing and crease-proof
  • Paraben-free, Alcohol free, Synthetic fragrance free, Non comedogenic

Let’s get started!


PACKAGING

  
This comes in a clear glass tube with the NARS logo printed on the side, and NARS’ classic slightly rubbery feeling matte black twist off cap. The applicator itself is a doe foot, like many, but not the standard size – I find that it’s slightly larger than most I’ve seen. What I appreciate about that is that it picks up a decent amount of product, which reduces the number of times I have to keep dipping back into the product.

FORMULA

It’s a very creamy formula, as the name indicates, but it’s the ideal texture. Not too thick, not runny at all, very comfortable to apply and wear, and very hydrating, which my dry winter skin loves! I have mine in the shade Vanilla, for reference, and it’s a perfect match to my skin tone. I will say that I’ve seen this compare to the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (which you guys know I die for!) however I find the Maybelline one to be a little more on the sheer and ‘wet’ side, whereas the NARS one is, while still very creamy, definitely a little on the drier side, if that makes sense. If you’re someone who’s used both, then you get me! 🙂

APPLICATION & WEAR

I actually used this two ways; with and without primer, on a few separate occasions.

First off, regardless of whether or not you wear a primer underneath, I did note that it applies best under the eyes with a damp sponge, but for blemishes I much prefer to pat it out with my finger. I haven’t had the greatest luck with a brush, but I’m waiting on a new concealer brush to come in the mail, so perhaps that will yield a better result.

When I got this in the mail, I ripped it open immediately and swatched it. I tried so hard to resist the urge to slather it all over my slightly greasy, unwashed face for fear that it might oxidize and I would hate it without giving it it’s fair shot. Long story short, eventually I did throw a little on to leave the house. And it wore BEAUTIFULLY!

This concealer is medium coverage, buildable to full, and over a primer or not, doesn’t settle into my pores or fine lines, doesn’t crease, and doesn’t budge! Yes, even on my oily spots, it stayed put! I wore it for a full 8 hour day, with no touchups or powder, and every time I looked in the mirror to see how it was holding up, it still looked just as amazing as when I first applied it!!


You guys, I think I’ve found my new HOLY GRAIL CONCEALER! Like, I’m confident that if someone told me I could only own one concealer the rest of my life, this would be the one! You know I like a concealer that multitasks; I hate to have to carry multiple products if it’s not necessary. This stuff is amazing!!

Have you tried it? Have you wanted to but were unsure if it was worth the $$? Leave me a comment and tell me your thoughts!

And please go follow me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito, and maybe even go like the Affordable Gorgeous page on Facebook! Your support means so much!

LOTS OF LOVE!

img_9363-3

Leave a comment