IS IT A DUPE – ORIGINAL BEAUTYBLENDER vs. REAL TECHNIQUES MIRACLE COMPLEXION SPONGE

 Ok guys, this is gonna be a fun one! Why you ask? Well, because it’s been said that the Original BeautyBlender can’t be duped. I beg to differ. Anything can be duped, can’t it? Well that’s what we’re gonna see here today!

So, for the purpose of this post, I actually broke down and ordered an Original BeautyBlender – I actually found mine on eBay, for just $12!! Brand new, sealed in the original packaging (c’mon, you guys know I’m a bargain hunter!) – but yes, I specifically went searching for this little hunk of foam so I could do this post – so it better be good!

So let’s get started!


THE ORIGINAL BEAUTYBLENDER ($20 at Sephora)

 

 So we’ll start with the original, of course. The Original BeautyBlender basically looks like your standard egg shaped blending sponge. Here’s what they have to say for themselves:

The original beautyblender® is a revolutionary makeup sponge applicator with 360 degrees of usable surface for creating absolute complexion perfection. This five-time Allure Best of Beauty Award-winner is ergonomically designed to meet your makeup needs. beautyblender® is the first high definition, neon pink sponge application tool that gives you everything from amazingly sheer coverage to a buildable full coverage.

This product is probably the most highly regarded and talked about tool in the makeup industry. Every one has one, or every one wants one. It’s a non-latex foam material, that “features an open cell structure that fills with small amounts of water when wet. This allows the sponge to be “full” so that the makeup product sits on top of the sponge rather than being absorbed, allowing you to use less product every time. When wet, beautyblender doubles in size and becomes even softer, returning to its original size when it air dries.” It’s handmade in the USA. It can be used with cream, liquid, or powder foundation, concealers, setting powders for “baking”, cream blushes, and I’ve even seen people use the mini one on their eyeshadow!

 

 Now like I said, everyone either has or wants one. I was perfectly content with my Real Techniques sponge, but what kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t put products to the test, right? (And maybe a little part of me wanted to see what all the hype was about…maybe.) So here are MY thoughts on the product:

PROS

  • very absorbant and squishy
  • Provides a flawless airbrushed finish
  • Multi-purpose (creams, liquids, powder)
  • Doesn’t absorb all of your product
  • non-latex material (for those of you, like me, with a latex allergy – I wasn’t able to find ingredients for the Real Techniques one but that’s never irritated me so I assume it’s also latex-free)

CONS

  • Expensive – retails for right around $20
  • Not quite as squishy as the Real Techniques sponge
  • No flat edge (which I really enjoy about its RT competitor)

REAL TECHNIQUES MIRACLE COMPLEXION SPONGE ($6.99 at ULTA)

 

 So this product I’ve owned for quite some time. I’ve gone through a few of them actually, and I love them. They even come in a convenient two-pack for $10.99, and are often times on sale at ‘buy one get one 50% off’ at ULTA. That quite the deal! So here’s what Real Techniques says about their product:

It’s a 3-in-1 multi-functional makeup sponge by Real Techniques. The rounded side blends larger areas of the face. The precision tip covers blemishes/imperfections and the flat edge contours around the eyes and the nose, leaving you with a complexion that’s smooth, enhanced and gorgeous!

This sponge claims that it can be used damp for a dewy glow, or dry for full coverage. Personally I don’t like to use sponges dry – since they’re designed to absorb moisture, as well as excess product, when used dry I feel like it absorbs MORE of the product, stealing it from my skin. And if there’s one thing I hate it’s wasting product. I actually tried to use it dry to cover a blemish, and all I got was less concealer on my face and little dots like I sponge painted on my face – not cute.

 

 But one of the things that I do really love about this sponge is the flat edge – I like that I can get right up underneath my bottom lashes with it, and along the sides of my nose. So now let’s talk pros and cons of this little guy:

PROS

  • inexpensive
  • good quality
  • blends out products like a dream
  • multi-functional ; foundation, concealer, blush, baking, powder, cream contour/highlight approved
  • convenient flat side for foolproof blending under the eyes and around the nose

CONS

  • material can break down easily if not cared for gently
  • with daily use and regular cleansing the lifespan is roughly 2.5 to 3 months

So you guys, I would venture to say that……

 

They both apply makeup flawlessly, they both are multi-functional in that they can be used with different mediums for different purposes from applying to blending to baking and beyond. The only difference in them really is the price, and of course that notable flat edge possessed by the Real Techniques sponge.

I’ll definitely continue to use the Beauty Blender, because I have it. But I just don’t know that I would catch myself spending that much money on it again in the future when the the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge is just as good, if not (in my opinion) better!!

Have you guys tried either of these? What are your thoughts? Which is your favorite?? Leave me a comment and let me know!

And please take a moment to go follow me on Twitter and Instagram @dlynnesposito, and go like the Affordable Gorgeous page on Facebook! Your support means the world to me! And of course feel free to share this with your friends!

LOTS OF LOVE!!

img_9363-3