REVIEW – SMASHBOX PHOTO FINISH PRIMER WATER

 So recently I went on a bit of a Sephora.com binge. Don’t worry, I kept myself very ‘in control’. But one of the things that I’ve been wanting to try for quite some time, as well as something that seems to be pretty hyped up in the makeup world, is the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water. And you know I’m always on the hunt for the perfect primer – it’s like the perfect concealer; it would be easier to find BIG FOOT than either of these products!

This retails for $32 for 3.9 fl oz at Sephora, and it claims the following:

What it is:
A makeup primer spray that hydrates and revitalizes skin.

What it does:
Get the benefits of priming, hydration, and sheer radiance with this all-in-one Photo Finish Primer Water. Free of silicone, alcohol, and oil, it’s packed with revitalizing electrolytes that work to reawaken skin and restore moisture. This enriched water instantly absorbs into skin for lasting hydration, leaving skin looking refreshed and ultrasoft while it locks in makeup.

So, was it worth it? Let’s find out!


PACKAGING

This primer water comes in a clear bottle with the name printed on the front. The spray nozzle produces a very fine mist, although it sprays a bit crooked. One half of my face was literally dripping in product, while the other was barely misted at all. I don’t know if it’s a defect with the sprayer, or the fact that mine arrived partially frozen.

FORMULA

It’s water. It’s clear, it has a scent similar to…watered down hairspray? I’m not sure. It wasn’t particularly pleasant, but it also wasn’t overpowering and it didn’t last long. I did notice that this takes a few minutes to really absorb into the skin, though.

APPLICATION & WEAR

So I started with freshly cleansed and moisturized skin. I used three pumps in an up to down motion, starting on the right side of my face, moving to the left. It seemed that as I sprayed, the product veered to the left out of the nozzle. Like I said, mine came slushy, so I won’t necessarily fault it for that.

Once it was on, it took maybe two to three minutes to fully absorb. If you were going to use this to sheer out your foundation, much in the way of mixing a primer and foundation on the back of your hand, then I suppose this wouldn’t be so bothersome. But this isn’t something that I would rely on if I were rushed to get out the door.

In terms of lasting power and my makeup; I noticed absolutely no difference. It was literally like misting water on my face and expecting it to hold my foundation and concealer. Nope. Not happening.

I even tried to spray this over everything when I was done applying my makeup; so I essentially sandwiched my makeup between two layers of this product. All it did was take away the powdery look, but again, I noticed no difference in staying power. You could get the same results with your favorite setting spray.

OVERALL RATING : 2/5


So, the big question; do I recommend this product. Not really.
It might be a nice layer of moisture if you’re super duper dry, but if you’re looking to get the priming benefits that this product claims, you’re barking up the wrong tree, so to speak.
Have you guys tried this? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around on social media!
Twitter & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this post and share my social media with your friends!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-3

4 thoughts on “REVIEW – SMASHBOX PHOTO FINISH PRIMER WATER

    • Just because it didn’t work for me doesn’t mean it won’t work for you 😊 I have combo/oily maturing skin (29years old) and I usually use Revlon photoready perfecting primer. I was intrigued by the idea of something lighter, but…..meh. They have a travel size if you want to try but not commit to a full size, and Sephora has a great return policy!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: DISAPPOINTING BEAUTY PRODUCTS | AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS

Leave a comment