REVIEW – BECCA x JACLYN HILL SHIMMERING SKIN PERFECTOR ‘CHAMPAGNE POP’

 I did it! I finally managed to get my hands on some ‘Champagne Pop’!!

Unless you’ve been literally living ‘off the grid’ – and I’m not even sure that would keep you in the dark – then you’ve heard of this product. On YouTube, Pinterest, Google, pretty much every blog or magazine out there has reference this product in some way, shape, or form.

This was a collaboration with BECCA Cosmetics by YouTuber and professional makeup artist, Jaclyn Hill. What it is, is the most beautiful, buttery smooth pressed powder highlight I’ve ever felt in my life, and her custom created shade is exactly that; a soft, white-gold with peachy pink undertones, that looks like powdered Cristal in a compact.

While BECCA is available at JC Penny, ULTA, Sephora, and online at www.beccacosmetics.com, this shade in particular is exclusive to Sephora. If you don’t have a Sephora near you, many JC Penny stores now have a Sephora inside them.

Jaclyn Hill is a former MAC Makeup Artist and freelance artist from Tampa, Florida. Starting YouTube approximately three to four years ago with a cheap camera and a desk lamp, she built one of the most successful YouTube careers around. Her quirky, fun, high-energy style and positive outlook on life are what really draw you in, and I’ll admit, she’s not only my favorite YouTube beauty ‘guru’, if you will, but a huge inspiration.

Now that I’ve had my fan-girl moment, let’s talk about the product itself; here’s what BECCA has to say:

What it is:
A creamy powder highlighter that absorbs and reflects light for the ultimate natural glow.

What it does:
Find refined luminosity in any light. This bestselling formula is enriched with ultrafine luminescent pearls that absorb, reflect, and refract light so your natural radiance is never lost. Unlike the traditional pressed powder method which simply mixes and compresses dry ingredients, this unique process blends pigments with proprietary liquid binders, resulting in unparalleled, creamy application with balanced color dispersion. Like a compact full of crushed gemstones, the multi-toned, ultra-fine pigment pearls adjust to your skin’s natural undertones for a truly unique glow.

So without further adieu, let’s get started!


PACKAGING

 

 

 While most BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfectors come in a black box, this comes in a reflective, gold box with a ‘water droplet’ design, which ties in to the shade name, ‘Champagne Pop’. When you open the box, there is a compact inside, with a silicone-y rubberized finish and domed metal top, with the BECCA name embossed across the top. When you open the actual compact, there is a protective plastic film covering the actual product with again, the BECCA name, and Jaclyn’ signature.

FORMULA

 

 Upon initial swatch, the formula is incredibly buttery smooth, almost creamy, which I attribute to the ‘liquid binders’ as noted above. The difference that I notice between this and my other shades (Pearl & Moonstone) is that this one seems to contain a visible glitter – not chunky by any means, but more prominent than that of the other shades in the line. It’s not enough to deter me from using the product, though. The swatch above is a heavy swatch, but rest assured, it blends out beautifully. Have I led you wrong yet??

 APPLICATION & WEAR

You guys, I was so excited to use this product that I literally put it all over my face when I got it. And then I stepped back and realized that perhaps I’d gone a little overboard.
While it claims to be a universally flattering shade, I find that on my fair NC15 skin, it can easily appear very golden, almost yellow and unflattering, if I’m not careful.
My favorite way to apply this is with a Morphe M501 brush (yes, the same brush that Jaclyn swears by to highlight, and it works!). I dip my brush in the product, and then tap off quite a bit of excess – back in to the compact, of course – I didn’t pay $38 to highlight my floor and my vanity, after all! Then I lightly dust it over my cheekbones, and down the bridge of my nose, and even a little on the tip of my nose. I also like to bring this up around the sides of my eyes, which give an amazingly gorgeous glow when you turn your head in the light.
Because I’m currently ‘printer paper white’, however, I’ve stashed it away to use during the spring and summer, when I’ve acquired a bit more color. But used sparingly I can still make it work, especially if I’m doing a look that calls for a soft, warm glow.

Overall rating : 5/5


If you have the chance to get your hands on this product, I highly, highly recommend it! It’s often out of stock on Sephora’s website, but you can sign up for an email to let you know that it’s available. When I got mine, I was so excited that I actually ordered two by mistake, but returned one – and the only reason that I returned it, is because….wait for it……it’s no longer limited edition!! BECCA has made this a permanent shade in the collection now, so they will be restocking it regularly!

This product retails for $38 and remember guys, it’s exclusive to Sephora. It’s not even carried on the BECCA website (all the other shades are, however). But it’s abso-friggin-lutely worth the money!

Have you guys tried it yet? What are your thoughts?! Leave me a comment below!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

And feel free to reblog this and share my social media with your friends!

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-2