REVIEW – PHYSICIAN’S FORMULA BUTTER BRONZER

For awhile now, I’ve been struggling with finding a bronzer that would work for my late fall/winter/early spring skin tone (i.e. ‘Macbook White’). My old stand-by, the Rimmel Natural Bronzer, just wasn’t doing it. It was starting to look orangey on me. No bueno.

It’s times like these that I turn to none other than YouTube for reviews. And nearly everyone was raving about the hot new bronzer on the market; the Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer.

Here’s what Physician’s Formula says about their product;

Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer Murumuru Butter Bronzer is an ultra-luxurious bronzer infused with Murumuru Butter, delivering a radiant Brazilian goddess glow! Moisturizing wonder features ultra-refined pearl and soft-focus pigments that smooth skin texture, brighten skin tone and deliver a gorgeous bronze finish.

Benefits:

  • Ultra-rich bronzer formula instantly melts into skin, sealing-in moisture to deliver instant and lasting hydration
  • Incredibly creamy and soft texture combines the best features of a powder and cream bronzer, to deliver a lit-from-within tropical glow unlike any other
  • Infused with a powerful blend of Murumuru Butter, Cupuacu Butter and Tucuma Butter, from the lush and nutrient-rich Amazon
  • Packed with essential fatty acids and pro-vitamins that soften, condition and moisturize skin, leaving it silky soft
  • Featuring unique sponge applicator specially designed to be used with creamy bronzer formula
  • Hypoallergenic, paraben free, gluten free, cruelty free, oil-free
  • Non-comedogenic, dermatologist approved

So is it worth all the hype? Let’s find out!


PACKAGING 

This bronzer comes adorably packaged in typical PF fashion; a round plastic compact, with the product pan lifting up to reveal a mirror and applicator in a lower compartment. The tropical colors and leaf design on the packaging are absolutely gorgeous, making it look and feel like a high end product. The enclosed applicator isn’t your traditional brush, but rather a sponge, which to be totally honest, I found useless. It applied the product very streaky, and blends like….shit.
The actual pan of bronzer has a rippled design, that looks like a beautifully draped piece of golden silk.

FORMULA

The most noticeable feature about this bronzer, upon opening the compact, is the scent. It’s very summery, almost like a tropical sunscreen, but in a good way.
When I swatched it, it felt very creamy; nothing like a powder bronzer. If I closed my eyes, I would think this was a high end product. That’s how incredible the formula is.

APPLICATION & WEAR

So, like I mentioned above, this does come with a little spongey applicator – do yourself a favor, and throw it out. It’s garbage.
I used several different brushes over the course of a few days, and found that a fluffy, synthetic bristle brush like the Real Techniques Blush Brush works the best. When I first went to apply it, I noticed that it’s actually quite light, barely noticeable on my roughly NC20 skin tone (mine is ‘Light Bronze’); see the photo below.

However, it’s definitely buildable without being cakey. Despite being a powder formula, it blends into the skin more like a cream, so it looks amazingly natural. Because I found it more neutral in tone than most other bronzers, I tried to contour with it – why not, right? Well, you can see the results for yourself in the photo above (I used the NARS Ita Brush to contour).

OVERALL RATING : 5/5


So, here’s the deal. I love this bronzer with like, every fiber of my being. Normally, it retails for about $15, but this week, CVS has all Physician’s Formula at 40% off (excluding clearance), plus a 20% off coupon I had, brought me down to a little under $10. However, when it comes time to repurchase, I will happily pay full price for this product; it’s that amazing. I was hesitant at first, so I waited for it to go on sale, but I’m so glad that I finally grabbed it!

Have you guys tried this? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Come follow me around social media!
Twitter, Pinterest & Instagram : @dlynnesposito
Facebook : Affordable Gorgeous
Snapchat : dlynnesposito

LOTS OF LOVE!!
img_9363-2